mat martin | Producing

  • Sketches, ideas, field recordings, demos and other such nonsenses are collected here, and can be filtered or searched below. Field recordings are often made while someone else takes a picture, and in those cases end with the shutter click.

    Readers are reminded that this is an intermittent service and despite all good intentions is often neglected in favour of proper work.

  • 12 January, 2013 | Blog · Music · Playing · Producing · Recording

    Released January 12, 2013

    Joanna Chapman-Smith – Vocals, Guitar, Copper Pipes (track 11) and Clarinet (track 1)
    Todd Biffard – Drums
    Patrick Metzger – Double bass
    Albert St. Albert – Hand percussion, Vocals
    Mat Martin – Banjo, Tenor guitar, Guitar
    Jaron Freeman-Fox – Violin

    Produced by Joanna Chapman-Smith and Mat Martin

    8 November, 2010 | Blog · Music · Playing · Producing · Recording

    ‘The wordplay is pure Costello. Delicate songwriting, with hints of folk and Americana. Bleakly beautiful.’ – UNCUT (****)
    ‘The Loner’s acoustic guitar-gilded explorations shine.’ – DAILY MIRROR (****)
    ‘An outstanding record. Uplifting and inspiring’ – MAVERICK (****)
    ‘He gathers his songs around him and weaves them into works of wonder’’ – ROCK N REEL R2 (****)
    ‘Somewhere between Raymond Carver and Alan Sillitoe… dissecting heartbreak with surgical precision. Highly recommended.’ – AMERICANA UK (8/10)

    Released November 8th, 2010

    Matt Hill vocals and acoustic guitar
    Alan Cook dobro
    Inge Thomson vocals, fender rhodes, accordian, melodica, kalimba, kaossilator, percussion
    Mat Martin banjo, tenor guitar, mandolin
    Roy Dodds drums

    All songs written by Matt Hill (except Lucifer by Matt Hill and Jason Walker)
    Produced by Mat Martin
    Engineered by Michael Tedstone and Richard Mellor
    Recorded at the Paddocks, Wartnaby, Leicestershire.
    Mastered by Denis Blackman at Skye Mastering, Isle of Skye.
    Original artwork and design by Kevin Craig

    8 November, 2010 | Blog · Music · Playing · Producing · Recording

    For this joint release, Kirsty McGee & The Hobopop Collective have recorded ‘Wife’, a song from the ‘How The Caged Bird Sings’ album by The Brute Chorus. In return, the Brutes have recorded the previously unreleased Kirsty McGee song ‘Alligator Teeth’.

    Released November 8, 2010

    Kirsty McGee – Vocals, Guitars
    Mat Martin – Fretless Banjo
    Nick Blacka – Double Bass
    Rob Turner – Drums
    Clive Mellor – Harmonica
    Barkley McKay – Piano

    Recorded and mixed at Valley Wood Studios, Leeds by Barkley McKay
    Produced by Mat Martin
    Artwork by Mat Martin

    15 March, 2010 | Blog · Music · Playing · Producing · Recording

    On October 10th 2009 Kirsty McGee & The Hobopop Collective performed and recorded a one-off show at Contact, Manchester, UK. This album represents the band’s selections from that set and is presented here with no overdubs or repairs, exactly as the songs were performed on the night.

    Released March 15, 2010

    Kirsty McGee: Vocal, Guitar
    Mat Martin: Banjos, Tenor Guitar, Banjo Uke, Vocal
    Nick Blacka: Double Bass
    Rob Turner: Drums, Junk
    With Special Guests
    James Steel: Electric Guitar
    Clive Mellor: Harmonica
    Christopher Cundy: Bass Clarinet, Saxello

    Produced by Mat Martin
    Recorded on location at Contact, Manchester by Barkley McKay
    Mastered by Russ Hepworth-Sawyer for MOTTOsound
    Artwork & Graphic Design: Mat Martin
    Photography: Pauline Keightley
    Live Sound: Ibrar Haque